And Then Out of Nowhere

I made oatmeal chocolate-chip cookies last night (with whole wheat flour so they’re totally healthy). This evening the whole family was in the van and the kids were asking what kind of cookies I had made (they had eaten some and they were still asking, I’ve decided not to think about what that means about my cooking). Anyway, we started discussing oatmeal choc chip v. oatmeal raisin and Sean says, “I love oatmeal raisin cookies.”

“Really?” I ask

“Oh yeah, I think raisin’s better than chocolate chip.”

“Really?!”

“I think oatmeal raisin is my favorite kind of cookie.”

We’ve been married for almost ten years and I had no idea.

______________________________________________________________

I also chose not to think about what that says about me as a wife.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue
    Jun 02, 2008 @ 22:17:48

    My husband’s favorite are white chocolate macadamia (sp?). I only know that because when he buys pre-made cookie dough, that’s the kind he buys. Not because I would actually ever make them from scratch. I mean, COME ON.

  2. Jabe
    Jun 02, 2008 @ 22:56:35

    My wife makes some really good cookies from some special recipe. I can never remember what’s in them, but I’ve always just sort of assumed that those are her favorite kind… but I’m probably wrong.

  3. chronicler
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 01:22:57

    I have such a hard time with knowing what his favorites are. We’ve been married 33 years and I couldn’t tell you his favorite meal. Cookie, yeah. Macaroon.

  4. Annie
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 10:26:49

    I’m with your hubby, oatmeal raisin is right up there on my list. My man loves peanut butter and sugar cookies. I only know this because he is the cookie maker in our house. I kill cookies.

  5. Lisa M
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 15:59:13

    Hum, I am wondering what my husbands favorite is now.

    I love them with chocolatchips. I love them with raisins.

    I’d balk at the whole wheat tho.

    (I know, I am so unpopular, so UN Politically Correct!)

    We mostly argue about store bought and home made. I’ve never eaten a store bought one I liked, and P- never had homemade ones!

    Go figure!

  6. bythelbs
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 18:26:34

    Sorry, I’m still trying to wrap my head around the whole idea that someone (multiple people even!) actually likes oatmeal raisin cookies. Raisins. *shudder*

  7. alison
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 20:15:46

    i guess it goes to show that even after a decade–you still never know EVERYTHING about your spouse. i remember learning that my husband could break-dance. I really was picking my jaw up off the floor.
    thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂

  8. Girl, Dislocated
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 22:23:34

    That just means you guys had a whole lot more important things to do than discuss cookies! 🙂

Leave a Reply

