Virtually Free Stuff!

Or I suppose Free Virtual Stuff is more accurate. Back to the point.

You asked for it. You got it. Toyota. (That reference is a little more obscure so I’ll offer $10,000 virtual dollars to the first person to name it.) Actually, only one person asked for it but I’ll offer it to all of you just the same.

What is it? You ask.

Only the most great, collasally stupendous thing ever! Something you’ll love an cherish for the rest of your days. Something that you’ll want to share with all your friends and neighbors, something so great you’ll wonder how you ever lived without it.

Actually I’m finding now, that I feel a little silly for having talked it up so much. What if you don’t like it? Or what if you do like it but it’s not that big of a deal? Maybe I should have downplayed instead. Maybe if I didn’t act like it was that big of a deal then once you got it (If you even want it) you’d be blown away but not necessarily because it’s so good, just because it’s pretty good but you had no expectations. Overthink much?

Well, what I’m offering is *Deep Breath* my book. (Technically it’s a manuscript but who’s counting?)

For any of you interested, I’m offering a virtual copy of On The Table a novel I wrote about three years ago.

On the Table is a cozy mystery about young widowed mother who works at a children’s hospital and is blamed for the near death of a five-year-old patient. As she tries to clear her name she also finds herself caught up in her sister’s problems with a premature baby, an interesting love triangle and threats on something more important than her life, the safety of her only son.

It’s really good (my mommy told me so) and even kind of funny. I like it and I’m really proud of it and I thought I’d offer it to anyone who wants it. (Please please, don’t steal it. I’d be really sad and I’m sure I’d cry. But I’m gonna be honest, if you stole it and got it published there would be a part of me that was just proud that I had written something proved publishable even if it didn’t have my name on it anymore.) I was going to post the first few chapters on another page here but I haven’t worked out how to do that yet so for now Just leave me a comment and I’ll email it to you and then you can gush about how good it is and what a talented writer I am and nominate me for a Pulitzer prize.

Thank you and goodnight.

PS Yes, I know that they don’t give Pulitzers for books. I don’t think.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jose Climaco
    May 15, 2008 @ 19:33:46

    Sounds interesting . And no I don’t think they give pulitzers for books either.

  2. Tausha
    May 15, 2008 @ 20:59:23

    so-is this post just for me? I will get his email and you can talk to him. I know that he doesn’t publish non-fiction, but I am sure that he can help with some advice or what to do next.
    I’ll get it tomorrow for ya.
    But, I would love to read it, if you want to forward it to me.

  3. Alison Wonderland
    May 15, 2008 @ 21:22:54

    Well Tausha, it’s not just for you (the world doesn’t revolve around you you know *nudge nudge* *wink wink*) although you are the one that asked for it most recently. In reality you’re not the only person to ask and like I said I’ve been meaning to post some of it anyway (see the link to the coming soon? page in the header).
    Mostly I just kind of like getting it out there. I’ve had pretty positive responses from the people who have read it (as if my family’s going to tell me it sucks) but I figure the more people who read it the better the chance that one of them will know someone who knows someone who knows something about publishing (or maybe they’ll just have an uncle in publishing 😉 ) and I read a lot of blogs of people who seem to really like to read so if they’re coming here…
    But I would love your uncle’s email address (although I may be too scared to use it) but that’s not (entirely) the reason for this post.

  4. chronicler
    May 15, 2008 @ 22:11:33

    Totally cool! I love free! And free books? That’s extra cool! I can hardly wait to read it! Neato!

  5. Jabe
    May 15, 2008 @ 23:04:25

    You should open an account at fictionpress.com and post it there. And for anyone reading my comment who’s not Alison, I’ve read her book and it’s good. You should check it out.

  6. diana banana
    May 16, 2008 @ 06:58:08

    forget paris!

    i haven’t even read the rest of your post, i just had to get that $10,000

  7. sallygirl
    May 16, 2008 @ 23:21:20

    That’s sort of what I meant by the slippery slope. On the surface, it seems fine. But if you allow an inch, before you know it you’ll have gone a mile. I think that, more than just the fact that homosexuality is a sin, is what I fret about. 50 years ago, much of what goes on today would be scandalous. Why has that changed? What have we let fall by the wayside? Not trying to be an alarmist, fear or hate-mongerer, but there is real danger in letting things go to make those who are doing wrong feel better about it. God is like any other parent. He loves us regardless, but is capable of being disappointed in our choices.

  8. sallygirl
    May 16, 2008 @ 23:21:49

    I hope that didn’t come across as snotty. Just continuing the conversation! 😀

  9. Annie
    May 17, 2008 @ 16:11:26

    I feel your joy and your pain. One of my book manuscripts went in the mail today. Fingers crossed. Ah the life of a writer…

  10. Allison
    May 17, 2008 @ 19:48:33

    I absolutely want to read this! I was just searching for something to read that hasn’t been written a million times before. I’ve never known someone who actually wrote a book. Not even virtually known someone. That is so cool!

  11. bythelbs
    May 17, 2008 @ 20:36:37

    Count me in.

  12. Annie
    May 19, 2008 @ 09:56:40

    Thanks for the support, I have every intention of being ridiculously successful with my books and you’d better not stop commenting on my blog–you’re comments are by far the most entertaining. Have you not sent your manuscript out yet? I’ve been emailing Brandon Mull lately and his advice has made me realize that this is definitely going to take work but I’m in this for the long haul. Come join the long haul.

Leave a Reply

