Not Another Mother’s Day Post

It occurred to me today that I do things for funny reasons. Let me ‘splain. No is too long, let me sum up. (A thousand virtual dollars to the first person to name the movie.)

As I was driving home from my mother’s on the major freeway in my area there was a highspeed wreck in front of me. I saw the car swerving and my first thought was that it was going to be spinning in my lane as I got there. Instead it spun across my lane and hit the divider.

Naturally, I had slowed when I thought I was in danger but after I saw it hit I made a split second decision. I pulled over. Here I was, a woman alone in a mini-van with four kids. Not the ideal help-out on the freeway situation (although I wasn’t pregnant and I wasn’t with my two pregnant sisters, but that’s another post) but the thought hit me that I do work in the medical field and I’m ok in a medical emergency (something that’s been tried and tested) and I guess I want to be helpful and serve my fellow man (I mean I really, really do want that, mom). But neither of those are the real reason that I stopped.

I stopped because I want my kids to grow up to be the kind of people who stop to help other people and they won’t be those kind of people unless they see me doing it.

It’s possible the same sort of reasoning goes into my eating all my vegetables at dinner, and not flipping off other drivers, and …

So how about you readers? (Yes, you three, I’m talking to you) Are there things you do just so that your kids (nieces, nephews, random children, girlfriends… whoever) will see you doing them?  How about things you don’t do?

Hey, look at that I guess it’s a mother’s day post after all.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bythelbs
    May 12, 2008 @ 16:41:08

    Dude, that’s Inigo, right?

    So what happened with the accident?

    One thing I try to do around my children is not complain/talk badly about others, and if I catch myself doing it I try to follow up with some positive things about the person. Also, if my children are complaining about someone I try to sympathize/be on their side while at the same time give possible reasons for that person’s behavior. I guess I’m trying to teach them to be kind and forgiving and give people the benefit of the doubt.

  2. Jabe
    May 15, 2008 @ 01:23:41

    I know I’m not the first one to say so, but I concur with bythelbs that it is the Princess Bride, however, I would like to point out that the actual quote is “No. Is too much…”

    I don’t know how often I curb my instinctive reactions so that my kids won’t pick them up, but I certainly notice when they pick up bad habits from me (mostly just Alexa at this point)…

  3. Alison Wonderland
    May 15, 2008 @ 05:45:42

    You’re right Jabe (as if I would ever even think of contradicting you on movie quotes) I thought it looked a little wrong when I wrote it but i couldn’t figure out what it should be. Anyway, congrats to bytheLBs who’s now a virtual thousandaire. Don’t you be spending that all in one place now.

    Oh and the accident ended up being not too big of a deal. There were three guys in the car (and none of them seemed to have cell phone which I did think was really weird) but the worst injury seemed to be the driver who had some glass in the back of his hand. They were all shaken up, understandably, but seemed ok and two other cars actually stopped and then the cops showed up so I didn’t stay long but the Princess and the Pea were both sufficiently impressed that we talked about it the rest of the drive home.

  4. bythelbs
    May 15, 2008 @ 08:38:49

    At first I thought you said, “…and then the cops showed up so I couldn’t stay long…” and I was totally intrigued, but alas it says didn’t.

Leave a Reply

