Putting Out the Welcome Mat

Two weeks ago the relief Society president in my ward outed me.

I type up the announcements for the RS every Saturday but this week my printer was on the fritz so I emailed them to her to print. However, my emails go out with a link here in the signature so she got this address. She even visited. That was fine, the latest post when she came by was the now infamous (in my mind anyway) Costco post. She even commented, she’s the one who strongly suspects (as I do) that the Pea is going to kill me off. So I was fine with the idea that someone with some authority in my spiritual life had, in essence, read my diary.

Then she got up in front of the entire RS and said something along these lines “I don’t think that you all know about Alison. She writes up the announcements but did you also know that she has written a novel? (no one in the ward did. I was somewhat embarrassed about it when I wrote it, I don’t know why, and while I’ve gotten over that it’s still so much cooler to have written a novel that’s been published than one that I practically have to beg people to read that I haven’t exactly advertised the fact either.) And she writes this blog about herself and her kids and so I’m announcing that she has to put the address in next weeks RS news.”

As an aside I’d like to let you know that that particular woman has since been released from her calling. I’m not saying I had anything to do with it. I just thought you should know.

Umm, ok. It’s not like I don’t want to increase my traffic here anyway (especially if I could get those who do come by to COMMENT). But the last post I had up before the Sunday in which the entire RS was supposed to get my blog address was The Princess In Search of the Kingdom. Probably not the best way to welcome the whole ward here.

So instead of giving up the address for nothing I decided to use it to bargain (and to buy myself some time to bury the past so to speak) I held it hostage. My terms being that anyone who sent me an item for the announcements, which I’m always desperate for anyway, would get a link here.

I’ve only had one response as of yet but as I was sending the email with the link it occurred to me. Unless I posted something else (this) the lady(ies) in the ward were going to be greeted by Heaving Bosoms. Do I really need my whole ward to know that I, on very rare occasions, read bodice ripping romance novels?

I’m not sure I do.

I’ve written plenty of posts that I have no problem with the ward reading, like this one, or this one, or even this one. But really this is the post I’d like the members of the ward to read as they step into the Wonderland.

The Princess was such a joy today. I did have to remind her about her chores but when I did so her sweet face fell. She was so sorry that she had failed to remember them herself. So to make it up to me she not only cleaned her room, the play room and the bathroom as she has been assigned, she then dusted and vacuumed the front room and swept out the carport. All with a smile on her face, singing to herself as she went.

The Pea, being his incouragable self, spent part of the morning out in the yard climbing trees (while I was inside reading my scriptures, of course) but when I called him to come in and get his room clean and his chores done he didn’t give me any trouble.

All the chores being done I quickly and easily got all four kids into the immaculately clean van to go to the Princess’s and then the Pea’s soccer games. They both played spectacularly well and when they weren’t playing they sat quietly and cheered for their sibling or helped entertain Irish1 who occasionally gets a little bit restless. And I, of course, did not forget to bring the teams treats for after the game.

I’m so glad every moment that I get to be the mother to such wonderful children and not a minute goes by when I wish that I had chosen to do anything different. I find my job as a mother constantly fulfilling and I love that I can always see the difference my help and teaching is making in the lives of these beautiful souls.

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. diana banana
    May 10, 2008 @ 18:33:34

    holla!!!! thanks big sis for making me laugh…and always commenting on my blog too

  2. sallygirl
    May 11, 2008 @ 15:51:41

    OH. MY. FREAKING. GOSH!!! Unless my RS Prez and I were BFFs, I think I might have a full blown anxiety/panic attack right then and there! After the initial shock wore off I might be more cool, but !!! Wow.

    I was leader of our book bunch for almost 2 years (until we read “The Kite Runner”, which apparently has the f-bomb in it like, twice, and was so… unnoticeable that I obviously forgot about it and recommended the book anyway and they kicked me out of my leadership position) and my email signature has my blog address in it as well. I didn’t get even one lurker from it in that time! I would love for more traffic, especially the commenting kind, but if people I know are going to read it they need to remember that this is basically my journal, and with the extreeeeeemly rare exception, I never censor myself there. If I feel the need to self-censor, I have a super-secret blog where I post it anyway and hope for the best!

  3. Alison Wonderland
    May 11, 2008 @ 18:29:51

    I’ve thought about a supersecret blog but… it’sa lot of work for something that I couldn’t publicize at all. So who would read it? And then what would be the point?
    So I just refuse to censor (much) and hope that the good outweighs, or at least buries the bad.

    oh, and now my mom’s here too.

  4. Al's mom
    May 11, 2008 @ 18:32:38

    Yes she is.

  5. Jennifer
    May 11, 2008 @ 20:39:52

    I think it’d be like our priest reading my blog, nothing racey, but I think I’d be in confession for a LOOONNNGGG time. (Sorry, I’m catholic) I write about my life for better or worse

  6. Allison
    May 11, 2008 @ 21:28:09

    Oh my gosh! That is funny in a that-would-so-happen-to-me way. I’m sure people will get a kick out of your blog. I personally think it’s hilarious, and (of course) consider myself to have an excellent sense of humor. If it makes you feel any better, one of my sisters-in-law is kind of a prude, and she totally doesn’t think my blog is funny at all in some of my more honest posts, but continues to read and I don’t censor myself (much). I let her read it anyway because she could definitely use it to relax and become less prudish, so maybe think of it that way.

    I think your blog is great, and I would love to have someone who thinks and writes like you in my ward because then I wouldn’t feel like such a loner! Hmmm… maybe there is someone in my ward like you and they just haven’t put it in the announcements yet…

  7. Alison Wonderland
    May 11, 2008 @ 22:01:58

    Jennifer, you don’t have to apologize for being catholic. Of course, you should be Mormon but hey, no one’s perfect 😉 But yes it would be a little like your priest, and the entire remainder of your congregation (that’s what a ward is) reading your blog. It’s not that I think I’m particularly evil but I do try to downplay the snarkiness at church.

    Allison… No you’re not in my ward. Pity.

Leave a Reply

