Why We Do What We Do -or- The Princess In Search of the Kingdom – Part Deux

I decided to let it go.

The Primary president in my ward called on Thursday and told us that the stake hadn’t planned a baptism for this month (resisting the urge to make a sarcastic remark) and so she was putting it together and what would the Princess like us to sing and who would she like to speak and so on and so forth.

That evening I still had not quite reached the zen point that I’m at now (that construction looks and sounds so wrong to me but I can’t come up with any other) so Sean and I snipped and sniped about it a bit that night but by Friday evening I decided that I needed to let it go.

I could have spent the whole baptism complaining about the lack of organization, I could have apologized, in that way that’s not really apologizing, to all the people that I called to invite last minute and made a big point of explaining why it was last minute. But I made a conscious decision not to do that. It was the Princesses baptism and I didn’t want that negative spirit with me. (Which is probably why I had the day that I had because let me tell you It was a SERIOUS struggle. But that’s all I’m going to tell you because I’ve let it go. oh I do have to tell you that I rode to the church with a very horrific smile that I didn’t feel on my face because I heard somewhere that physically smiling even when you don’t feel like it actually does improve your mood. I’m not sure if it worked but I think it scared Sean a bit. But I’m just telling you that because I think it’s funny)

And my decision to be happy worked.

It meant that I had to let a lot of other things go as well. Normally I would have made a big point of making the Pea sit there with us so that he could somehow be a special witness to this decision that his sister was making but I decided that this was about the Princess not the Pea so I sat with her and to be honest I’m not sure where he sat for the first part (I strongly suspect that he spent a fair portion of it in the hallways with some of his cousins) I don’t care. I sat with my beautiful daughter and held her hand.

The service itself was not the quiet reverent thing of one’s mental picture but with my new zen/karma thing going on it didn’t bother me. I have 25 nieces and nephews, 15ish (the math is too much for me at this point) of whom are under the age of 8. They weren’t all there but the Princess wasn’t the only kid getting baptized. There was another kid from our ward and he had family there too. The point is that there were other noises other conversations going on, people going in and out with their kids, babies what have you and it didn’t bother me.

I have family, Sean has family, family is loud and messy and noisy but they were there to watch my daughter make a very important decision and the fact that that circumstances leading up to the program weren’t perfect didn’t matter at all. We could have waited, we could have done it next month when we would have had time to put together just the perfect thing and some if not all of the Princesses grandparents could have been there (none of them were due to various circumstances) but she didn’t want to wait and it turned out just fine.

See how happy she is

(No comments on Sean’s hair please.)

And as Big Idea says, that is why we do what we do.

It doesn’t matter that the Pea and his cousin, Jack, disappeared after the baptism, but before the confirmation (something that worried Jack’s mother considerably, she had reason, she knew about this) and it doesn’t matter that I had to run home to get Sean a change of underwear (he apparently forgot that he’d be getting all wet) or that … I can’t think of anything else.

There probably were more but I’ve let them go.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sallygirl
    May 04, 2008 @ 23:11:25

    I’m glad everything worked out so “zen” for you. It’s hard growing up an knowing things to go a certain way, and then when you arrive at adulthood it’s different. The whole stake/ward baptism day… I can see if you have a large primary how that would be important. Conserving resources and all. But if it’s one child, and it’s important to the family to all be there, I’m thinking the date should be negotiable.

    It’s great you were able to refocus on what’s important. I’m surprised I still have a complete tongue considering how many times I’ve had to bite it to ensure a good mood all around!

  2. melanie
    May 05, 2008 @ 08:15:35

    brian forgot extra underwear for Justins too. He had to wear a pair of Scott’s, and you can imagine how comfy that was! It really turned out so great!

  3. bythelbs
    May 05, 2008 @ 15:59:03

    She’s baptized—hurray!

    Glad it all worked out in the end and that you’ve “let it go”. Letting go is good.

    Any chance we can we get a picture of the psychotic fake smile?

  4. Annie
    May 05, 2008 @ 17:23:59

    I hope somebody in Heaven is recording all the things we righteous girlies let go. Letting go is bound to pay off eventually. Good on ya.

  5. Brillig
    May 07, 2008 @ 00:29:11

    Oh, what a blessing that you were able to let go. I read your previous post and was ready to knock out some teeth for you, but this follow-up post has taught me a lot. What a beautiful day. And she’s positively radiant (as is Sean!) and I’m so happy for everyone involved.

  6. Jabe
    May 08, 2008 @ 08:22:28

    I can see why you wanted to punch somebody. I thought several aspects of the production were punch-worthy, but it really turned out just fine. Glad we could be there as the lone representatives of the Washburn contingent.

  7. E
    May 13, 2008 @ 10:27:14

    Yep, I remembered dry underwear for Christian, but not Brent. Apparently this is a common phenomenon.

Leave a Reply

