The Princess In Search of the Kingdom

The Princess turns 8 tomorrow. (yes, I’m planning a birthday post for her but at the moment I have other things on my mind.) So being members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints we’ve been talking to her about getting baptized. She wants to be baptized, she’s very excited to get baptized. Unfortunately it seems to be impossible to get a child baptized in my stake. (For any of my readers who are not LDS there will be several terms here that you will probably not understand. I apologize.)

I have talked to the Bishop. The Princess has even had an interview with him (although I didn’t get any paperwork and I now understand that I was supposed to) and I have mentioned to him that I haven’t been contacted about the Stake baptism. “oh well they do it, I think, the first Saturday of the month,” I’m told, “at around 4:00.”

I think and around are not going to cut it here people! I have family to invite.

And what about the program? Are we expected to contribute? If not, well frankly I want to know why not. It’s not like I want to speak, trust me I don’t. But my daughter, my baby, is getting baptized and I’m not even giving a prayer?

But this is all assuming that there is a program. Who would be in charge of that? I’ve asked. Oh I’ve asked. I”ve asked the Bishop I’ve asked the Primary President, I’ve asked the mother of the other child in our ward who should be getting baptized this Saturday. The answer I get from all of these people is “the stake.” As in, “the stake’s in charge of that.” Oh really? Well, do you HAVE THE STAKE’S PHONE NUMBER?!!!!!!

So I asked the ward mission leader, He’s in charge of a lot of baptisms right? Only convert baptisms, member baptisms are handled by the stake. GRRR… He gave me a name, one of the Bishops of one of the other wards in the stake. I called. He isn’t in charge of those anymore. But he thinks this guy is, call him. I call. I’m waiting for a call back but I’m gonna be honest with you, I’m not holding my breath.

The baptism is supposed to be in 3 days people! Why have I not been contacted? Why did no one call me a month ago to find out what we had planned? I guarantee that if we were inactive the missionaries would beating down my door. But we’re not so no one has any interest in helping my daughter with this VERY IMPORTANT ordinance.

THIS IS A SAVING ORDINANCE!!!!!! It’s not like I’m mad that someone’s not right on top of giving her her Faith in God award. And I KNOW she would have been talked to about her Young Womanhood Recognition before this point. There are whole committees in the church set up to get kids through this stuff. Eagle Projects? fuhgedaboutit. BAPTISM IS SO MUCH MORE IMPORTANT THAN THAT!

I happened to talk to another woman in the ward, the Princesses primary teacher, this evening (poor woman, I totally unloaded on her) and she said that she had the same problem in February when her son turned 8. She finally called the Stake President. He made a few calls and when she was finally contacted, the Wednesday or Thursday before the baptism, she was told that since her son was the only kid in the stake getting baptized she was in charge of the program. That’s what, four days to line up speakers, a pianist, prayers, someone to lead music?

Now, I got family. (No, not that kind of family, although we’re not too far off there at this point.) I have plenty of people whom I could ask to speak on just about any gospel topic at a moment’s notice and they would give some of the best talks you’ve ever heard. I have a sister who could sing you whatever you want whenever you want and she’d knock your socks off. But I shouldn’t have to do that! And there’s plenty of people, in my area especially, who don’t have that luxury.

At this point I’m ready to find a swimming pool (or even a really large bathtub) and invite the family over. Like I said, I have family. There’s plenty of priesthood around and If my ward and stake families aren’t interested, well I know that my family is.

So that’s I think Saturday at 4ish. I’ll let you know what happens.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sallygirl
    May 01, 2008 @ 11:13:10

    Don’t get me started on the pain that planning B’s birthday was! And we had family coming from out of state! It’s a good thing I’m already running an hour late for life this morning, otherwise this comment could be a post in and of itself.

    Good luck on Saturday!!

  2. PEA
    May 01, 2008 @ 16:17:41

    So sad. Speaking from a primary presidency perspective. You should have been contacted the first of the year, then the month before and of, then the week before. our presidency is dropping the ball big time. That breaks my heart. You are so right is is such a big deal! It should feel bigger to everyone around you. Congrats from me anyway. It will be great, the ordinance will happen anyway. What a fun time.

  3. Jabe
    May 01, 2008 @ 17:33:59

    That’s, well, tons of fun. We had a similar experience, but it kinda sorted itself out. Alexa was originally supposed to get baptized in her “home ward” (meaning the ward where her records are, which is her mother’s), but when we ran into some of the same problems, I balked. Luckily, we found out that the bishop in that ward was willing to refer her to my bishop (some kind of temporary loan of stewardship) and in our ward there’s always only one kid (on the rare occasions that there is a baptism at all), so I was put in charge a couple of weeks before.

  4. bythelbs
    May 01, 2008 @ 18:56:23

    Argh—how frustrating! We do our baptisms on the ward level, which makes it so much easier to plan. I’m PP, so I actually coordinate them with my bishopric counselor over primary and the families. I don’t get the point of the huge stake mass baptism days. How does this help at all?

    You could always put the baptism off a month or so ’til you feel more settled about the arrangements. There’s no law that says your child has to be baptized within a month of turning 8. Good luck!

  5. Allison
    May 03, 2008 @ 22:18:50

    Wow, what a pain. Are there hardly any children in your ward or something? That seems like something they should know how to do.

    We had a difficult time for my daughter’s baptism because we were trying to do it out of state in my parent’s ward. The two bishops couldn’t agree on what paperwork was needed, and it almost didn’t happen. Luckily my bishop is very patient and jumped through the hoops. I was surprised that this stuff was so ridiculous to get done. Don’t kids get baptized all the time??

    By the way, thank you for your suggestion (renaming my blog). I’ve decided to just change the name all the time like I do my hair. So Allison Chains will be coming up soon (my husband will get a kick out of that!) Thanks for posting, I always like meeting new blog friends!

  6. Trackback: Why We Do What We Do -or- The Princess In Search of the Kingdom - Part Deux « Alison Wonderland
  7. Mother of the Wild Boys
    Mar 21, 2009 @ 20:02:08

    Totally loved reading this, especially after having heard your live performance of this story. đŸ˜‰ Who the heck is THE Stake?! ha ha ha

Leave a Reply

