Morror, Mirror on the Wall, Who’s the Handiest of Them All?

That would be me.
I BUILT THIS!

No, I didn’t put it together. I BUILT IT. I had very specific needs and I knew that Ikea just wasn’t going to do it on this one (no slight intended to Ikea, love them) so I got out my tape measure and I did some quick (or possibly really really slow) calculations and I drew some plans.

And I went to Home Depot and bought some wood lumber (there’s a possibility that they cut it for me at Home Depot but this in no way diminishes my achievement) and I took it home and I measured some more and I got out my superfun cordless drill and screwed some stuff together. I even got out my newly purchased jigsaw and cut the little swoopies (that’s a technical term) on the back and sides. And after only four trips to Home Depot (including one aborted trip because the hammers were starting to be a temptation and I was afraid I’d use one to kill the Pea I ran out of time) I had a big ol’ storage bench for my kids to sit on in my kitchen.

Now for some of you this is not a major accomplishment. My husband’s family is full of very handy people. I’m not sure I’ve ever been to a gathering with his entire family in which the pouring of cement was not involved. In fact the first real family experience I had with those who were soon to be my in-laws was when we all gathered in Blanding (UT, hit Moab and head south for another hour) to finish Grandma and Grandpa’s basement. Not just normal finishing either. If I recall correctly we were framing walls, pulling wires (a talent that may come in handy soon Deb, we’ll be calling you), there may even have been some plumbing involved. Anyway, my point is that Sean would come by any handiness naturally (although there’s a possibility that that particular gene skipped a generation). His parents built a house, as in brick on brick, with their own two (four?) hands for cripes sake.

My family on the other hand. NOT HANDY. We don’t pour cement, we don’t frame walls, we can only just be prevailed upon to put up shelves (That’s a shout out to my fam and FHEs as a kid). We’ll argue politics or religion or music or movies or whatever with you all day (sometimes even if we don’t disagree with you) but we’re not much for getting things done.

But me I got it done.

Now I just have to sew a cushion for it.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. suburbancorrespondent
    May 01, 2008 @ 06:50:00

    I, for one, am utterly impressed.

  2. Jabe
    May 01, 2008 @ 17:23:33

    Not bad at all. Now if you manage to sew a cushion for it, I’ll be really impressed. I could build the chest, but I’m confident that I would be confounded by any attempt to sew a cushion.

  3. bythelbs
    May 01, 2008 @ 18:58:17

    Holy moses, I’m impressed!

    Good for you! The storage bench I “built” was from *cough*Ikea, but it was much smaller as it needed to fit in my girls’ tiny bedroom.

    Go Alison!

  4. Brillig
    May 07, 2008 @ 00:23:44

    Ho. Ly. Crap. i bow down to your brilliance. And I’d now like you to make me one. Or two… Or, um, three would actually be PERFECT. So, yah. Thanks in advance…

  5. Mother of the Wild Boys
    Mar 21, 2009 @ 19:57:27

    Cool, you’re so handy. That rocks.

Leave a Reply

