Love Letter

My Dear Rewards Chart,

I now that you have only been a part of my life for a few short weeks but in that time I have come to value you more than you know. You truly have changed my life. I find myself thinking about you, the dishwasher needs to be emptied and I should do that OR I could leave it and surf the internet and let the Princess and the Pea earn points by emptying it, oh look Diana‘s got a new post up… and talking about you, “Pea if you don’t get off Irish1’s big wheel right now I’m taking away a point,” all day long.

It is because of you that my children have goals. It is because of you that my children are willing to do something, anything to help me out. They fight less, dear Rewards Chart, and I attribute that to you.

It’s true, my darling, that our love has cost me something, nineteen dollars to be exact, but what I’ve gained in threat induced quiet, in lowered blood pressure, in not having to repeat myself ten times, surely that’s worth something. I think it’s worth a lot.

I know, my sweet, that whirlwind romances like ours often don’t last and there may come a day when the threat of losing points does not inspire the instant obedience that I have enjoyed these last weeks but surely this is different, this is true love. We may lose some of the passion, we may lose some of the heat but I think this experience, this time with you has changed my on a fundamental level and I will never really be the same. And I believe we have many long, happy years ahead of us.

Thank you, my love, for all that you do for me. You are the light and the hope of my day and you bring solace to my nights. (Now if only you had a brother that would work with the twins…)

All my love,

Alison

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jabe
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 17:37:54

    That’s pretty funny.

  2. bythelbs
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 14:25:34

    I hope your relationship lasts longer than ours (as in the reward chart and me, not you and me—heh) did.

  3. Mother of the Wild Boys
    Mar 21, 2009 @ 19:54:16

    Dude, I’ve gotta check out this chart!

Leave a Reply

