You have got to be kidding me!

I just finished reading “Bitter is the New Black” it was ok, but that’s not the point. The point is that Jen Lancaster got a book contract WITHOUT HAVING WRITTEN AN ACTUAL BOOK!!!

I HATE HER!!!!!!!!!

She lost her job and couldn’t get another one and she started blogging and then… AND THEN A LITERARY AGENT CONTACTED HER!!! (I’m really going to try to stop yelling at you now) *deep breath* a literary agent contacted her and told her that he/she (I can’t remember) would be interested in representing her if she were to write a book. Yes, that’s right, she hadn’t written the book, any book yet! AND SHE *sigh* And she had a contract with a publisher before the book was finished!!!!!

I’m jealous to the point of violating the tenth commandment. That’s right, I’m coveting (That may also be one of the seven deadly sins, I’ve never been entirely sure what those were. Maybe I should have seen that Brad Pitt movie. Mmmmm… Brad Pitt… No. Focus!) I don’t covet any of her servants (well, maybe I do, if she has a maid) or her ox or her ass but I really, REALLY covet her book contract.

I’ve written a book, I’ve sent queries to every agent ever. I’ve revised my book and my query letter and resent them to every agent ever. Nothing.

Apparently I need to blog more often.

P.S. I don’t really hate Jen Lancaster. I’m sure she’s a very nice person (actually having read her book I’m not at all sure of that but she seems to have a delightfully sarcastic personality and I think we could get along very well).

P.P.S. I haven’t actually sent queries to every agent ever (but some days it feels like it.)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. chronicler
    Apr 08, 2008 @ 11:06:52

    Yeah I hate her too. 😉

Leave a Reply

